Dove and Rose Reading Plan

Social Media 3

These books do not need to be read in linear succession. One might start anywhere, read partially, and even go back and forth. However, contemplated collectively as a linear series of phases, they do represent an important and thought-provoking flow of Our Lord and Our Lady’s influence. This influence responds to our goodwill and runs softly through our hearts as a river of grace in the Dove and Rose devotion.

Phase 1:


True Devotion and total consecration to the Blessed Virgin, a love for Truth, and an abhorrence for heresy; devotion and consecration to St. Thérèse of Lisieux as our saintly heavenly sister, advocate, and patroness.


True Devotion to Mary by St. Louis de Montfort
The Glories of Mary by St. Alphonsus Liguori
The Story of a Soul by St. Thérèse of Lisieux

Phase 2:


A love for the contemplative life imbued in our souls through Our Lady’s Immaculate Heart and St. Thérèse’s sisterly heart. We are imbued with Carmelite spirituality and a desire for solitude, even though we live active lives in the world. We love God and abhor the spirit of the world. We desire to converse with Heaven rather than with the world. Eucharistic adoration is our central act of contemplation.


The Interior Castle by St. Teresa of Avila
The Ascent of Mount Carmel by St. John of the Cross

Phase 3:


Complete abandonment to the will of God as our primary aim.


Abandonment to Divine Providence by Jean-Pierre de Caussade


Phase 4:


Consecration to St. Joan of Arc as our leader, saintly heavenly sister, advocate, and co-patroness guiding us to the center of the Immaculate Heart of Mary where Jesus Christ reigns in all His glory.


Joan of Arc by Mark Twain
Joan of Arc – Her Story by Régine Pernoud
Joan of Arc – By Herself and Her Witnesses by Régine Pernoud
The Retrial of Joan of Arc by Régine Pernoud

Phase 5:


The discernment of God’s will using the method of St. Ignatius of Loyola as our means to move forward boldly on the Trail of the Dogmatic Creed with Sts. Joan and Thérèse.


The Discernment of Spirits – an Ignatian Guide for Everyday Living by Fr. Timothy Gallagher, OMV.

Discerning the Will of God: An Ignatian Guide to Christian Decision Making by Fr. Timothy Gallagher, OMV